Asia Cup 2022 Finals: Sri Lanka beats Pakistan to became new champions

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Winners

The final match of the Asia Cup 2022 was played between Sri Lanka and Pakistan at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, in which the host Sri Lankan team won by 23 runs to become the new champion of Asian cricket.

In this match, Sri Lanka’s team, batting first, scored 170 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs, in which Bhanuka Rajapaksa played an unbeaten inning of 71 runs, while Wanindu Hasaranga’s bat also saw important innings of 36 runs.

At the same time, chasing this target, the Pakistani team lost 2 wickets at the score of 22, after which it was not an easy task for them to return to the match.

Mohammad Rizwan’s bat definitely got an innings of 55 runs but the Pakistani team was reduced to 147 runs in 20 overs. Pramod Madhushan took 3 wickets for Sri Lanka.

Bhanuka Rajapakse and Wanindu Hasaranga’s partnership made the team come back

Babar Azam, the captain of the Pakistani team, after winning the toss, decided to bowl without any hesitation. After which the Sri Lanka team did not start well, the team lost its first wicket on the score of 2 in the form of Kusal Mendis.

After this, on the score of 23, the team got the second blow in the form of Pathum Nisanka on the score of 23, while Gunatilaka also returned on the score of 36.

By the score of 58, half the Sri Lankan team had returned to the pavilion, after which Bhanuka Rajapaksa along with Wanindu Hasaranga not only maintained the run rate but also brought the team back into the match.

After this, Hasaranga returned to the pavilion after playing a personal inning of 36 runs, but Rajapaksa played an important role in taking the team’s score to 170 runs in 20 overs while playing till the end.

Rajapaksa played an unbeaten inning of 71 runs in 45 balls with the help of 6 fours and 3 sixes. For Pakistan, Haris Rauf took 3 wickets while Naseem Shah, Shadab Khan and Iftikhar Ahmed took 1-1 wickets.

The bowling of Pramod Madhushan and Hasranga gave the team victory

Chasing the target of 171 runs, the start of the Pakistani team was very poor, in which the team got two big setbacks in the form of captain Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman on the score of 22.

From here, in the first 6 overs, the team’s score could only reach 37 runs for the loss of 2 wickets. After this, a partnership of more than 50 runs was seen between Mohammad Rizwan and Iftikhar Ahmed for the third wicket but the run rate was seen quite a lot.

Due to which the Pakistani team lost Iftikhar Ahmed’s wicket at the score of 93, after that the team had lost 7 wickets till the score of 112.

Due to this the defeat of the Pakistani team was absolutely decided and the team was reduced to 147 runs in 20 overs. Pramod Madhushan took 4 wickets while Wanindu Hasaranga took 3 wickets for Sri Lanka.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments